OUR ACTIONS

Funding of scientific projects

Our calls for projects (AAPs)

The Foundation For Rare Diseases supports excellent research to understand the causes and pathophysiological mechanisms of rare diseases, to develop new treatments, and to improve the lives of patients.

The Foundation has an active scientific policy and launches 4 to 6 calls for projects per year. It offers funding to winning research teams and access to innovative technologies such as new generation sequencing (exomes, whole genomes and new technologies of interest in this field), the development of animal models, and high-throughput screening of molecules with therapeutic potential. Expertise in these new technologies is provided by specialized technology platforms.

A registry of award-winning projects since 2012 is available

Current calls for projects

Joint Call for Projects 2023 (7)

CALL FOR PARTNERSHIP PROJECTS

Call for projects Algodystrophy syndrome Algodystrophy France

"Complex regional pain syndrome -

Chronic neuropathic pain "

Given the specificity of the field of rare diseases, the Algodystrophie France association and the Fondation Maladies Rares (FFRD) have decided to join forces to support and stimulate research into complex regional pain syndrome CRPS (or algodystrophy) and/or chronic neuropathic pain. All biomedical, paramedical and humanities/social sciences disciplines are eligible for this call for projects.

Maximum budget: €15,000

Maximum duration: 24 months

Submission of bid documents before April 04, 2024, 5pm (Paris time).

If you have any questions, please contact: aap-asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Joint Call for Projects 2023 (6)

CALL FOR PARTNERSHIP PROJECTS

Call for projects Bardet-Biedl syndrome France - 

"Pigmentary retinopathy

Given the specificity of the field of rare diseases, theBardet-Biedl Association (BBS France) and the Fondation Maladies Rares have decided to join forces tosupport and stimulate biomedical research into retinopathy pigmentosa to improve Bardet-Biedl syndrome (BBS). All biomedical disciplines are eligible for this call for projects.

Maximum budget: €90,000

Maximum duration: 24 months

Submission of bid documents before April 04, 2024, 5pm (Paris time).

If you have any questions, please contact: aap-asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Awards & Scholarships (5)

RESEARCH PRIZE

Alnylam Pharmaceuticals 2024 Award - "RNA interference and rare diseases

Alnylam Pharmaceuticals renews its confidence in the Fondation Maladies Rares to organize a research prize for an innovative project using interfering RNA technology applied to rare diseases. The winner will receive a prize of 20 000 € to continue his or her research work.

The prize will be awarded to an innovative research project in the field of rare diseases, focusing on one of the following themes

  •  Translational research developing an RNA interference approach using an animal or cellular model.
  •   Innovative vectoring of interfering RNA targeting an organ or tissue.

The prize will be awarded to an established researcher, scientific leader of a team attached to a French research organization, whose research has contributed to major advances in the field of rare diseases.

Submission of bid documents before March 19, 2024, 5pm (Paris time).

If you have any questions, please contact: aap-bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com

FMR call for projects (2)

OUR CALLS FOR PROJECTS 

Call for projects "GenOmics 2024

The Fondation Maladies Rares is pleased to announce the launch of its "GenOmics" 2024 call for projects.

The aim of this AAP is to support hypothesis-driven research projects aimed at exploring the genetic and molecular basis of rare diseases using NGS approaches (WES, WGS, RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, ChIP-seq, Methyl-seq, etc.).

Support from the Fondation Maladies Rares will give project leaders access to innovative high-throughput sequencing technologies for the analysis of exomes, genomes, transcriptomes or epigenomes.

Application deadline: February 20, 2024, 5 pm (CET)

If you have any questions, please contact : aap.bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com
Awards & Scholarships (4)

RESEARCH GRANT

Research grant "Towards a concrete improvement in the quality of life of patients with autoimmune myasthenia".

The Fondation Maladies Rares and UCB have joined forces to offer a €30, 000 research grant to a humanities and social sciences (HSS) research project focused on findingconcrete, short-term ways ofimproving the life course of patients suffering from generalized autoimmune myasthenia gravis.

The grant will be awarded to a research project focusing on the individual, family and/or social consequences specifically linked to generalized autoimmune myasthenia gravis, in order to gain a better understanding of the impact of this disease, and in particular muscular fatigability, on quality of life at the level of the individual, couple or family, for example.

Application deadline: March 5, 2024, 5pm (CET)

If you have any questions, please contact: shs-mr@fondationmaladiesrares.com

RESEARCH PRIZE

Rare Diseases & Pain" research prize 2024

The APICIL Foundation has decided to join forces with the Fondation Maladies Rares to respond to the need to take better account of the pain associated with certain rare diseases, by providing €15,000 in support of a research project on "rare diseases and pain". rare diseases and pain" research project.

The prize will be awarded to an innovative research project in the biomedical sciences or in the human and social sciences in the field of rare diseases and pain. Particular attention will be paid to the fact that pain must be consubstantial with the rare disease studied.

The award will distinguish: 

  • or a researcher, scientific leader of a team contributing through his/her research to major advances in the field of rare diseases and pain, 
  • or a young researcher whose work is promising in the field of rare diseases and pain. 

The prize amounts to 15 000 €This amount will be used to continue research work on the theme.

Application deadline: February 27, 2024, 5pm (CET)

If you have any questions, please contact: christine.fetro@fondation-maladiesrares.com

CALL FOR E-HEALTH PROJECTS

4th edition of the "e-health and rare diseases co-design workshops". 

The digital revolution in healthcare is a tremendous opportunity for rare diseases. To support the emergence of e-health to improve the care and lives of people with rare diseases, the Fondation Maladies Rares is organizing e-health & rare diseases co-design workshops to accompany, advise and support project leaders and help them take action.  

6 projects will be selected to benefit from co-design workshops on Thursday, April 11, 2024, and 3 of them will receive support to the tune of €5,000, following this call for applications and the co-design workshop.

Submission deadline: Thursday, January 25, 2024, 5pm (CET)

With the support of the Société Française de Santé Digitale

If you have any questions, please contact: gaelle.dombu-smeets@fondation-maladiesrares.com

CALL FOR PARTNERSHIP PROJECTS

Call for projects ASTB France - " Research on Tuberous Sclerosis of Bourneville".

In view of the specific nature of the field of rare diseases, the Association Sclérose Tubéreuse de Bourneville France (ASTB France) and the Fondation Maladies Rares (FMR) have agreed to form a partnership to support and stimulate fundamental, translational and clinical research into Tuberous Sclerosis of Bourneville. partnership to support and stimulate fundamental, translational and clinical research into Tuberous Sclerosis of Bourneville.. All biomedical disciplines are eligible for this call for projects.

Maximum budget: €150,000

Maximum duration: 36 months

Submission deadline January 18, 2024, 5pm (Paris time).

If you have any questions, please contact : aap.asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

OUR CALLS FOR PROJECTS 

Call for projects "Development of experimental models for rare diseases

The Fondation Maladies Rares is pleased to announce the launch of its 2023 call for projects to promote the development of new experimental models of rare diseases, in order to :

- Improving understanding of the molecular and cellular basis of rare diseases

- Provide therapeutic proof-of-concept leading to future therapies

This call will provide financial support for the creation of new experimental models for rare diseases.

If you have any questions, please contact : aap.bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Partner platforms

For its Calls for Projects on high throughput sequencing, screening and the creation of animal models, the Foundation relies on partner platforms of expertise. We invite you to contact these platforms directly to set up your projects.

Rare Diseases and Pain Prize - APICIL Foundation

Since 2022, the APICIL Foundation has joined forces with the Foundation For Rare Diseases to reward an innovative project in the field of rare diseases and pain by offering a "Rare Diseases and Pain" prize of €15,000.
This prize, awarded to the project leader, enables a French research team to develop a research project on this theme that is so important for patients and is sometimes still too little studied.

Rare Diseases and Pain Award - ALNYLAM

Since 2020, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals has been committed to the Foundation For Rare Diseases to reward innovative projects using RNA interference technology in the field of rare diseases.
Each year, a €20,000 prize is awarded to an established researcher, scientific leader of a team attached to a French research organization, who has contributed through his or her research to major advances in the field of rare diseases.

NOS ACTIONS

Le financement des projets scientifiques

Nos appels à projets (AAPs)

La Fondation Maladies Rares soutient une recherche d’excellence pour comprendre les causes et les mécanismes physiopathologiques des maladies rares, développer de nouveaux traitements, et améliorer le parcours de vie des personnes malades.

La Fondation mène une politique scientifique active et lance 4 à 6 appels à projets par an. Elle offre aux équipes de recherche lauréates un financement, un accès à des technologies innovantes telles que le séquençage de nouvelle génération (exomes, génomes entiers et nouvelles technologies d’intérêt dans ce domaine), le développement de modèles animaux, le criblage à haut débit de molécules présentant un potentiel thérapeutique. Les expertises sur ces nouvelles technologies sont apportées par des plateformes technologiques spécialisées.

Un registre des projets lauréats depuis 2012 est accessible

Les appels à projets en cours

Appel à Projets conjoint 2023 (7)

APPEL À PROJETS EN PARTENARIAT

Appel à projets Syndrome de  Algodystrophie France – 

« Syndrome douloureux régional complexe –

Douleur neuropathique chronique »

Compte tenu de la spécificité du domaine des maladies rares, l’association Algodystrophie France et la Fondation Maladies Rares (FFRD) ont décidé de s’associer pour soutenir et stimuler la recherche sur le syndrome douloureux régional complexe CRPS (ou algodystrophie) et/ou les douleurs neuropathiques chroniques. Toutes les disciplines biomédicales, paramédicales et de sciences humaines et sociales sont éligibles à cet appel à projets.

Budget maximum : 15 000 €

Durée maximum : 24 mois

Dépôt du dossier de candidature avant le 04 avril 2024, 17h (heure de Paris).

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap-asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Appel à Projets conjoint 2023 (6)

APPEL À PROJETS EN PARTENARIAT

Appel à projets Syndrome de Bardet-Biedl France – 

« Rétinopathie pigmentaire »

Compte tenu de la spécificité du domaine des maladies rares, l’Association Bardet-Biedl (BBS France) et la Fondation Maladies Rares  ont décidé de s’associer pour soutenir et stimuler la recherche biomédicale sur la rétinopathie pigmentaire pour une amélioration du syndrome de Bardet-Biedl (BBS). Toutes les disciplines biomédicales sont éligibles à cet appel à projets.

Budget maximum : 90 000 €

Durée maximum : 24 mois

Dépôt du dossier de candidature avant le 04 avril 2024, 17h (heure de Paris).

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap-asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Prix & Bourses (5)

PRIX DE RECHERCHE

Prix Alnylam Pharmaceuticals 2024 – « ARN interférent et maladies rares »

Alnylam Pharmaceuticals renouvelle sa confiance à la Fondation Maladies Rares pour l’organisation d’un prix de recherche qui récompensera un projet innovant utilisant la technologie de l’ARN interférent appliquée aux maladies rares. La lauréat se verra remettre un prix de 20 000 € afin de poursuivre ses travaux de recherche. 

Le prix récompensera un projet de recherche innovant dans le domaine des maladies rares et portant sur l’un des thèmes suivants :

  •  Recherche translationnelle développant une approche d’ARN interférence et utilisant un modèle animal ou cellulaire.
  •   Vectorisation innovante d’ARN interférents ciblant un organe ou un tissu.

Le prix distinguera un chercheur confirmé, responsable scientifique d’une équipe rattachée à un organisme de recherche français contribuant par ses recherches à des avances majeures dans le domaine des maladies rares.

Dépôt du dossier de candidature avant le 19 mars 2024, 17h (heure de Paris).

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap-bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Appel à projet FMR (2)

NOS APPELS À PROJETS 

Appel à projets  «GenOmics » 2024

La Fondation Maladies Rares a le plaisir de vous annoncer le lancement de son appel à projets « GenOmics » 2024.

L’objectif de cet AAPs est de soutenir des projets de recherche fondés sur des hypothèses et visant à explorer les bases génétiques et moléculaires des maladies rares par l’utilisation d’approches NGS (WES, WGS, RNA-seq, small RNA-seq, ChIP-seq, Methyl-seq, etc.)

Le soutien de la Fondation Maladies Rares permettra aux porteurs de projets d’accéder aux technologies innovantes de séquençage à haut débit pour l’analyse d’éxomes, de génomes, du transcriptomes ou d’épigénomes.

Date limite de soumission des candidatures : 20 février 2024, 17h (CET)

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap.bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com
Prix & Bourses (4)

BOURSE DE RECHERCHE

Bourse de recherche « Vers une amélioration concrète de la qualité de vie des patients atteints de myasthénie auto-immune »

La Fondation Maladies Rares et UCB ont choisi de s’associer pour proposer une bourse de recherche d’un montant de 30 000 € à un projet de recherche en sciences humaines et sociales (SHS) focalisé sur la recherche de pistes d’amélioration concrètes et à court terme du parcours de vie des patients atteints de myasthénie auto-immune généralisée.

La bourse sera attribuée à un projet de recherche qui s’intéressera aux conséquences individuelles, familiales et/ou sociales spécifiquement liées à la myasthénie auto-immune généralisée afin de mieux appréhender l’impact de cette maladie, et notamment de la fatigabilité musculaire, sur la qualité de vie au niveau de l’individu, du couple ou de la famille par exemple.

Date limite de soumission des candidatures : 5 mars 2024, 17h (CET)

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : shs-mr@fondationmaladiesrares.com

PRIX DE RECHERCHE

Prix de recherche « Maladies Rares & Douleur » 2024

La Fondation APICIL a décidé de s’associer à la Fondation Maladies Rares afin de répondre au besoin de mieux prendre en compte la douleur consubstantielle à certaines maladies rares en soutenant à hauteur de 15 000€ un projet de recherche « maladies rares et douleur »

Le prix récompensera un projet de recherche innovant en sciences biomédicales ou en sciences humaines et sociales dans le domaine des maladies rares et de la douleur. Une attention particulière sera portée lors de l’évaluation sur le fait que la douleur doit être consubstantielle à la maladie rare étudiée.  

Le prix distinguera : 

  • soit un·e chercheur·euse, responsable scientifique d’une équipe contribuant par ses recherches à des avancées majeures dans le domaine des maladies rares et de la douleur, 
  • soit un·e jeune chercheur·euse dont les travaux sont prometteurs dans le domaine des maladies rares et de la douleur. 

Le montant du prix s’élève à 15 000 €, ce montant sera affecté à la poursuite des travaux de recherche sur la thématique. 

Date limite de soumission des candidatures : 27 février 2024, 17h (CET)

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : christine.fetro@fondation-maladiesrares.com

APPEL À PROJETS E-SANTÉ

4ème édition des « Ateliers de co-design e-santé et Maladies Rares » 

La révolution numérique en santé est une formidable opportunité pour les maladies rares. Afin de soutenir l’émergence de la e-santé, au bénéfice de l’amélioration du parcours de soins et de vie des personnes atteintes d’une maladie rare, la Fondation Maladies Rares organise les ateliers de co-design e-santé & maladies rares pour accompagner, conseiller et soutenir des porteurs de projet et les aider à passer à l’action.  

6 projets seront sélectionnés pour bénéficier des ateliers de co-design, le jeudi 11 avril 2024, et 3 d’entre eux recevront un soutien à hauteur de 5 000 €, à l’issue du présent appel à candidatures et de l’atelier de co-design.

Date limite de soumission des dossiers : jeudi 25 janvier 2024, 17h (CET)

Avec le soutien de la société Française de Santé Digitale

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : gaelle.dombu-smeets@fondation-maladiesrares.com

APPEL À PROJETS EN PARTENARIAT

Appel à projets ASTB France – « Recherches sur la sclérose tubéreuse de Bourneville »

En raison des spécificités du domaine des maladies rares, l’Association Sclérose Tubéreuse de Bourneville France (ASTB France) et la Fondation Maladies Rares (FMR) ont convenu d’un partenariat afin de soutenir et de stimuler la recherche fondamentale, translationnelle et clinique sur la Sclérose Tubéreuse de BournevilleToutes les disciplines biomédicales sont éligibles à cet appel à projets.

Budget max : 150 000 €

Durée max : 36 mois

Date limite de soumission 18 Janvier 2024, 17h (heure de Paris).

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap.asso@fondation-maladiesrares.com

NOS APPELS À PROJETS 

Appel à projets  «Development of experimental models for rare diseases »

La Fondation Maladies Rares a le plaisir de vous annoncer le lancement de son appel à projets 2023 pour promouvoir le développement de nouveaux modèles expérimentaux de maladies rares, afin de :

Améliorer la compréhension des bases moléculaires et cellulaires des maladies rares

– Fournir des preuves de concept thérapeutiques pouvant conduire à de futures thérapies

Cet appel apportera un soutien financier à la création de nouveaux modèles expérimentaux pour les maladies rares.

Pour toutes questions, merci de contacter : aap.bio@fondation-maladiesrares.com

Les plateformes partenaires

Pour ses Appels à Projets sur le séquençage à haut débit, le criblage et la création de modèles animaux, la Fondation Maladies s’appuie des plateformes d’expertises partenaires. Nous vous invitons à prendre contact directement avec ces plateformes pour le montage de vos projets.

Prix Maladies Rares et douleur – Fondation APICIL

Depuis 2022, la Fondation APICIL s’associe à la Fondation Maladies Rares afin de récompenser un projet innovant dans le domaine des maladies rares et de la douleur en proposant un prix « Maladies Rares et Douleur » pour un montant de 15 000 €.
Ce prix, remis au porteur de projet, permet à une équipe de recherche française de développer un projet de recherche sur cette thématique si importante pour les patients et parfois encore trop peu étudiée.

Prix Maladies Rares et douleur – ALNYLAM

Depuis 2020, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals s’engage auprès de la Fondation Maladies Rares afin de récompenser des projets innovants utilisant la technologie de l’ARN interférent dans le domaine des maladies rares.
Chaque année un prix de 20 000 € distingue un chercheur confirmé, responsable scientifique d’une équipe rattachée à un organisme de recherche français, contribuant par ses recherches à des avancées majeures dans le domaine des maladies rares, et a été affecté à la poursuite de ses travaux.